STAR SPEAK


image

 

Doug McClelland’s 1987 book, STAR SPEAK,HOLLYWOOD ON EVERYTHING, contains some great quotes .

Here are some samples.

SAMUEL GOLDWYN:

“The most important thing in acting is honesty. Once you’ve learned to fake that, you’re  in!”

Samuel Goldwyn

Samuel Goldwyn

 

SPENCER TRACY:

“Acting is not an important job in the scheme of things. Plumbing is.”

image

Spencer Tracy

 

 

GROUCHO MARX:

“I got into an elevator at MGM and there,in one of her famous men’s hats, was Garbo. I said hello, and when there was no reply, I said,’Oh,sorry. I thought you were a fellow I knew.’ “

Groucho Marx

Groucho Marx

 

SAMUEL GOLDWYN:

“I’m never going to write my autobiography as long as I live.”

 

DAN DAILEY:

“Betty GRABLE? She’d murder you. I remember once I got her angry on the set. She stormed over and said,’You know why I’m doing this picture ? I thought they said Dan Duryea!’ “

Dan Dailey

Dan Dailey

 

 

Oscar Levant

Oscar Levant

OSCAR LEVANT:

Garbo doesn’t like me.I don’t blame her. I pulled an awful corny gag when we were introduced . I said,’Pardon me,I didn’t catch the name.’ “

 

 

ESTHER WILLIAMS:

“When Fernando (Lamas) proposed to me, he said,’Let me take you away from all this.’ And I said,’Away from all what? I’m a movie star!’ “

Esther Williams

Esther Williams

 

 

ALFRED HITCHCOCK:

“When I came to America 25 years ago to direct Rebecca,David O. Selznick sent me a memorandum.I’ve just finished reading it. I think I may make it into a motion picture . I plan to call it ‘The Longest Story Ever Told’ “

 

 

SAMUEL GOLDWYN:

“I don’t want to make a nickel on this picture (The Best Years Of Our Lives).  All I want is for everybody in the country to see it.”

Myrna Loy,Fredric March

Myrna Loy,Fredric March

 

 

CLARK GABLE:

“Well, we’ve won the war and there’s peace now everywhere. Except here in Hollywood where the fighting for good scripts,good billing and good dressing rooms never ends.”

image

 

CLARENCE BROWN:

“A star is when someone says,’Let’s leave the dishes in the sink and go see Joan Crawford.”

Joan Crawford

Joan Crawford

 

 

BILLY WILDER:

“Of course there must be subtleties in film making. Just make sure you make them obvious.”

( or was that Mr.Goldwyn?)

Billy Wilder

Billy Wilder

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Love that quote about leaving the dishes in the sink & going to see Joan Crawford. Star power indeed!

    Also loved what Esther Williams’ response to the marriage proposal. This looks like a terrific book!

Leave a Reply

