A LETTER TO THREE WIVES

How many ways can you say A LETTER TO THREE WIVES.

Most European countries stayed with the original title, but I like the  French title, DOMESTIC CHAINS!

 

M

DOMESTIC  CHAINS

Well, it is about the three wives, so Kirk,Paul and Jeffrey don’t merit a picture.

 

 

M

A LETTER TO THREE WIVES

Again, the ladies feature prominently(in alphabetical order),  but we do see the three husbands this time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

M

LETTER TO THREE WOMEN

The portrayal of ‘Addie Ross’ is shown in shadow and in what looks like a negligee – the temptress! She seems to be on the telephone – spreading gossip, no doubt. She’s already sent the fateful letter.

 

 

M

LETTER TO THREE WIVES

In this poster, the men are omitted altogether. It’s Jeanne,Linda and Ann who will sell the movie.

I like the way the ladies have been painted, lovely pastel colours  , with Linda holding  the all important letter. Is Ann holding the envelope?

 

 

 

M

LETTER TO THREE WIVES

 

 

 

 

I wonder if Kirk,Paul and Jeffrey ever saw these posters ,with their names in very small print! Probably not.

In this poster, I guess the wives  have read the letter . They all look depressed.

M

FRIEND OF THE FAMILY WITHIN

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This poster is not nearly so well drawn. I can just about recognise Paul Douglas.

Maybe the title,FRIENDS OF THE FAMILY WITHIN, refers to the never seen’Addie Ross’.

 

4 responses »

  1. Saw it many years ago but had forgotten it had the same idea, only this time it is the husbands who get the letter. Considering it was only a year after the Fox classic, I doubt Joseph Mankiewicz would have been pleased.
    I vaguely remember Eve Arden in it.

  2. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen this, and I think I have this on my shelf in a DVD collection. (Sheesh!)

    Beautiful posters, and I liked that you pointed out the absence of/reduced size of the husbands. I’m not sure I would have picked up on that if I were doing the same post.

Leave a Reply

