REMEMBER THAT LINE?

Thelma Ritter,Ann Sothern

Thelma Ritter,Ann Sothern

A LETTER TO THREE WIVES:

Thelma Ritter:    ” Do you know what I like about your program? Even when I’m running the vacuum,I can understand it.”

 

 

Garbo,Ina Claire

Garbo,Ina Claire

NINOTCHKA

Ina Claire:     “Oh dear me. I must be losing my finesse. If I’m not careful.I’ll be understood by everybody.”

 

 

image

Dick Powell,Claire Trevor

MURDER MY SWEET

Dick Powell:    “I caught the blackjack right behind my ear. A black pool opened up at my feet. I dived in. It had no bottom.”

 

 

image

Ann Blyth,Joan Crawford

MILDRED PIERCE

Joan Crawford:    “I can’t get you out of this,Vida.”

 

 

Paulette Goddard,Mary Boland,Norma Shearer

Paulette Goddard,Mary Boland,Norma Shearer

THE WOMEN

Mary Boland:    “Oh,isn’t it wonderful to see all our lives so settled – temporarily.”

 

 

William Tracy

Inez Courtney,William Tracy,Sara Haden,Felix Bressart

SHOP AROUND THE CORNER

William Tracy:   “Well,I would describe myself as a contact man. I keep contact between Matuschek and Co and the customers – on a bicycle .”

 

 

BELLE OF THE NINETIES

John Miljan:   “I must have your golden hair,fascinating eyes,alluring smile, your lovely arms,your form divine.”

Mae West:   “Wait a minute.Is this a proposal or are you taking an inventory?”

 

 

Humphrey Bogart

Humphrey Bogart

THE MALTESE FALCON

Humphrey Bogart to Mary Astor:  “You’re good,you’re very good.”

 

 

Dennie Moore,Norma Shearer

Dennie Moore,Norma Shearer

THE WOMEN

Dennie Moore talking about Joan Crawford’s character:

“She’s got those eyes that run up and down men like a searchlight.”

 

 

Ida Lupino

Ida Lupino

THEY DRIVE BY NIGHT

Ida Lupino:  “……I saw the doors. The doors made me do it.Yes,the doors made me do it.”

 

 

Gloria Swanson

Gloria Swanson

Hedda Hopper

Hedda Hopper

SUNSET BOULEVARD

Hedda Hopper: “Times city desk? Hedda Hopper speaking.I’m talking from the bedroom of Norma Desmond.

Dont bother with the rewrite man. Take it direct. Ready?

As day breaks over the murder house,Norma Desmond, famous star of yesteryear, is in a state of complete mental shock…….”

 

All quotes from THE MOVIE QUOTE BOOK by Harry Haun (1980)

image

 

 

 

 

 

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

