THIS N’ THAT 5

 

Barbara Hale

Barbara Hale

(1)   Great to see the May,2014 interview with Barbara Hale after a screening of The Window.
Interviewed by Alan K.Rode in Palm Springs,Barbara spoke well about her film and TV career, and long marriage to Bill Williams.
Gail Patrick ( producer of Perry Mason) became one of her dearest friends.
The interview can be seen at the Film Noir Foundation archive here.

 

image

 

 

 (2)     LARAINE DAY on The Locket:
 My character was the greatest challenge I ever had- a destructive young woman who’s a kleptomaniac. The form of the film – flashbacks within flashbacks within flashbacks – was criticised by some reviewers of the time as too confusing.
Today,though,its style is highly regarded by film historians.
Many movie fans seem to remember me best from the DR KILDARE series, but first and foremost,I remember The Locket.”

.

(3)       One of the funniest posts I have read is at the Widescreenworld blogspot. The subject being the lack of Oscars for Edward G.Robinson, and written in the gangster vernacular EGR was famous for.
Can’t recommend it enough. It’s so very well written.
“There’s one guy they never gave an Oscar to.Never even nominated him for one. So we’re gonna do what should have been done a long time ago. We’re gonna steal the Oscars for Edward G.Robinson…..”

The  full piece can be read here.

image

Edward G.Robinson.KEY LARGO

 

(4)   1970 interview with JACK LEMMON:

“Harry Cohn,head of COLUMBIA Pictures,a very feared man. I had a marvellous relationship with him,but I had never met him till I finished my first film, IT SHOULD HAPPEN TO YOU.
He called me up to his office and I said, good,finally I’m meeting my boss…. He said, ‘The name is out.’ I said, what name,I didn’t know what he was talking about.
He said,’It’s gonna be Lennon.’ I said no,they might think I’m a Russian revolutionary. And he said,’No, I looked it up, it’s LEN-IN.

image

(5)  CLASSIC QUOTES:

Sidney Greenstreet, THE MALTESE FALCON.

image       Kasper Gutman :

“Well,Wilmer.I’m sorry indeed to lose you,but I want you to know I couldn’t be fonder of you if you were my own son. Well,if you lose a son,it’s possible to get another.There’s only one Maltese Falcon……”

 

image

 

CLIFTON WEBB in LAURA:

Lydecker:  “In my case,self-absorption is completely justified.I have never discovered any other subject quite so worthy of my attention.”

 

 

Robert Mitchum, Vincent Price

Robert Mitchum, Vincent Price

 

In HIS KIND OF WOMAN, Robert Mitchum ( as Dan Milner)  and Vincent Price (as Mark Cardigan) prepare to take on gangster Raymond Burr.

(Cardigan is a film star).

Milner: I’m too young to die. How about you.”

Cardigan: Too well known.”

Milner: “Well, if you get killed,I’ll make sure you get a first rate funeral in Hollywood, at Grauman’s Chinese Theatre.”

Cardigan: I’ve already had it. My last picture died there.”

 

 

Katy Jurado

Katy Jurado

 

Katy Jurado as Helen Ramirez in HIGH NOON:

“Kane will be a dead man in half an hour,and nobody’s gonna do anything about it. When he dies, this town dies too. I can feel it.

I am all alone in the world. I have to make a living. So I’m going some place else. That’s all.”

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

