DIALOGUE GEMS 3

 

 

THE DARK MIRROR:
Lew Ayres to Thomas Mitchell,discussing the twins played by Olivia De Havilland:
One of our young ladies is insane – very clever,very intelligent but insane!”

Olivia De Havilland. the Dark Mirror

Olivia De Havilland. the Dark Mirror

 

BRINGING UP BABY:

Katharine Hepburn as ‘Susan’ reading the letter from her brother about ‘Baby':

He’s three years old,gentle as a kitten and loves dogs.”  I wonder whether Mark means that he eats dogs or is fond of them.”

image

HARVEY:
James Stewart
as ‘Elwood':

I always have a wonderful time,wherever I am,whoever I’m with.”

image

HIS GIRL FRIDAY:
Rosalind Russell as ‘Hildy’ to Ralph Bellamy as ‘Bruce':
“If you want me,Bruce, you’ve got to take me as I am instead of trying to change me into something else. I’m no suburban bridge player. I’m a newspaperman. Darn it.”

image

INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS:
Kevin McCarthy
(describing the body he has found):
“It’s like a first impression that’s stamped on a coin. It isn’t finished.”

image

KEY LARGO:
Humphrey Bogart to Ed.G.Robinson:
“You don’t like it,do you,Rocco, the storm? Show it your gun, why don’t you. If it doesn’t stop, shoot it.”

image

LAURA:
Clifton Webb
as Lydecker to Dana Andrews as McPherson:
“Laura considered me the wisest,the wittiest,the most interesting man she’d ever met. And I was in complete accord with her on that point.”

image

THE MALTESE FALCON:
Sidney Greenstreet
as Gutman:
Here’s to plain speaking and clear understanding.”

image

THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE:

Frank Sinatra as Marco describing the Lawrence Harvey  character:
Raymond Shaw is the kindest,bravest, warmest,most wonderful human being I’ve ever known in my life.”

image

MEET ME IN ST LOUIS:

Margaret O’Brien as ‘Tootie’,talking about her doll:

I expect she wont live through the night. She has four fatal diseases.”

Chill Wills as ‘Mr Neely': “And it only takes one.”

image

 

SABRINA:

Humphrey Bogart as ‘Linus':

“Paris is for lovers. Maybe that’s why I stayed only 35 minutes.”

image

THE THIN MAN:

William Powell as ‘Nick Charles':

“Now don’t make a move or that dog will tear you to shreds.” (as ‘Asta’ immediately hides.)

image

 

 

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. A few more classic lines from Greenstreet in THE MALTESE FALCON:

    I couldn’t be fonder of you if you were my own son. But, well, if you lose a son, it’s possible to get another. There’s only one Maltese Falcon.

    Now, sir. We’ll talk, if you like. I’ll tell you right out, I am a man who likes talking to a man who likes to talk.

  2. Great dialogue choices, Vienna. I especially liked the ones from INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS, THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE and LAURA. Great films + great writing: perfect together.

Leave a Reply

